

## Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D. State Superintendent of Schools

## **Title I Regional Program**

The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) Office of Title I will implement a regional program for capacity building for the State and Local Education Agencies (LEAs) to collaborate for the implementation of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The purpose of Title I under ESSA is to provide all children significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education, and to close educational achievement gaps. This regional approach for professional learning organizes the LEAs by regions in order to provide ongoing meaningful support and collaboration. There are six regions and each region has a Regional Lead Team with a Point of Contact (see the chart below) from the MSDE Office of Title I. The regional program focuses on cycles of continuous improvement in LEAs and Title I schools. Regional teams meet with the LEAs in their regions at least four times during the school year. This collaborative regional program may include topics as:

- > Title I Application & Monitoring Tools
- ➤ Needs assessment/Root Cause Analysis
- > ESSA Implementation
- Cycles of Continuous Improvement
- ➤ Evidence Based Strategies

- Equitable Services
- > Four Domains for Rapid School Improvement
- ➤ Managing Risks through Internal Controls
- Parent/Family and Community Engagement
- Others topics as determined by the LEAs and MSDE

Region 1 Gail Clark Dickson Ed. D. *Shanna Edmond	Region 2 Gail Clark Dickson Ed. D. *Mary Cross	Region 3 Gail Clark Dickson Ed. D. *Barb Scherr *Tricia Crafton	Region 4 *Veronica Simmons *Valerie Ashton- Thomas	Region 5 Veronica Simmons *Young-Chan Han	Region 6 Veronica Simmons *Michele Hampton
Allegany	Carroll	Baltimore City	Anne Arundel	Caroline	Dorchester
Frederick	Howard	Baltimore County	Calvert	Kent	Somerset
Garrett	Montgomery	Cecil	Charles	Queen Anne's	Wicomico
Washington	Prince George's	Harford	St. Mary's	Talbot	Worcester
		SEED			

2018-2019 Title I Points of Contact (POCs)- Shanna Edmond (Allegany, Frederick, Garrett, Washington); Mary Cross (Carroll, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's); Barb Scherr (Baltimore City, SEED School of Maryland); Tricia Crafton (Baltimore County, Cecil, Harford); Valerie Ashton-Thomas (Anne Arundel); Veronica Simmons (Calvert, Charles, St. Mary's); Young-chan Han (Caroline, Kent, Queen Anne's, Talbot); Michele Hampton (Dorchester, Somerset, Wicomico, Worcester). POCs will collaborate with Section Chiefs.