# Maryland High School Graduation Task Force Meeting #7



Friday, April 13, 2018 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM Anne Arundel County Public Schools Board of Education 2644 Riva Road Annapolis, MD 21401

<u>Purpose:</u> The State Superintendent requested a High School Graduation Task Force in response to the State Board's interest in student performance and the meaning of a Maryland diploma. The Task Force will review current credit requirements, assessment requirements, and diploma options for secondary school students to provide recommendations for the State Board of Education by July of 2018.

## Meeting #7

## Agenda:

- Welcome, Approve Minutes, and Opening Remarks (9:00AM 9:05 AM)
- Review Communication Options & Timeline (9:05 AM 9:10 AM)
- Committee Work (9:10 AM 11:58 AM)

### Attendance:

Task Force Members:

Jennifer Davis, Maryland State Education Association

George Arlotto, Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland

Marc Cohen, Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals

Faith Connolly, Maryland Independent College and University Association

Mary Gable, Maryland State Department of Education

Brendan Gallagher, Maryland Teacher of the Year Program

Anna Gavin, Maryland Chamber of Commerce

Terry Gilleland, Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

Ken Goncz, Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals

Justin Hartings, Maryland State Board of Education

Angie Holocker, Maryland State Department of Education

Carly Hviding, Maryland Governor's Office

Elizabeth Kameen, Office of the Attorney General

Alice Kukapa, Maryland Association of Student Councils

Jennifer Love, Maryland English Language Learning Family Involvement Network

Charles McDaniels, Maryland Association of Boards of Education

Kelly Meissner, Special Education State Advisory

De Wayne Morgan for Nancy Shapiro, University System of Maryland

Alissa Peltzman, Parent

Rudy Ruiz, Maryland Business Roundtable

James Scott Smith, Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland

Rick Tyler, Maryland PTA

Peaches Wilson, Maryland Department of Human Services

Support Staff in Attendance:

Carol Williamson, MSDE

Dara Shaw, MSDE

Brianna Creed, MSDE

Danielle Susskind, MSDE

Lynne Muller, MSDE

Laia Tiderman, MSDE

Ava Spenser, MSDE

Cecilia Roe for (Jonathan Turner), MSDE

### Welcome, Approve Minutes, and Opening Remarks

Facilitator(s): Dr. Carol Williamson

Dr. Williamson welcomed the Task Force members and officially opened the meeting at 9:00 am. She reviewed the previous session's work and set the agenda for the day, which included committee work time beginning with a debrief from the last meeting.

Dr. Williamson asked for a vote on the meeting minutes from Thursday, March 29, 2018. A motion was made to approve the minutes and the motion was seconded. The entire Task Force approved the minutes.

Dr. Williamson reviewed the norms with the Task Force.

The schedule for the rest of the meetings was discussed with a focus on the May 25<sup>th</sup> meeting-which is right before Memorial Day and scheduled to be held at MSDE. The decision was made to move the meeting to Thursday, May 24<sup>th</sup> and to meet at the Maryland DOT building. Two members felt the 24<sup>th</sup> might be a challenge but most could attend. The May 11<sup>th</sup> meeting will be at the Department of Agriculture.

Dr. Williamson introduced Ava Spenser who will be replacing the note taker in the Programs committee. Cecelia Roe is filling in for Jonathan Turner with the Accountability committee.

Dara Shaw discussed the need to share materials through each committee facilitator due to the rules for Open Meetings. She reminded the members that they can not discuss items as a quorum. The intent of these directions was not to discourage conversation and sharing but to uphold the regulations of Open Meetings

Dr. Williamson reminded the Task Force members to try to find a person to sit in if members need to be absent.

Members were dismissed to work in their committees at 9:11.

#### **Committee Work**

Committee Facilitator(s): Brianna Creed, Danielle Susskind, & Laia Tiderman

Committee facilitators officially closed the meeting at 11:58 AM.

Next Meeting: Friday, April 27, 2018 at the Anne Arundel County Board of Education

For copies of agendas, minutes, and resources, please refer to the website for the Maryland High School Graduation Task Force at

 $\underline{http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/about/Pages/MHSGTF/index.aspx} \;.$