# Maryland High School Graduation Task Force Meeting #8



Friday, April 27, 2018
9:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Anne Arundel County Public Schools
Board of Education
2644 Riva Road
Annapolis, MD 21401

<u>Purpose:</u> The State Superintendent requested a High School Graduation Task Force in response to the State Board's interest in student performance and the meaning of a Maryland diploma. The Task Force will review current credit requirements, assessment requirements, and diploma options for secondary school students to provide recommendations for the State Board of Education by July of 2018.

## Meeting #8

# Agenda:

- Welcome, Approve Minutes, and Opening Remarks (9:00AM 9:05 AM)
- Panel Innovative Schools (9:05 AM 10:05 AM)
- Break (10:05 PM 10:20 AM)
- Committee Work (10:20 AM 11:55 AM)
- Wrap-Up and What to Expect Next Meeting (11:55 AM 12:00 PM)

## **Attendance:**

Task Force Members:

Eileen Abel, Maryland Association of Community Colleges

George Arlotto, Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland

Marc Cohen, Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals

Faith Connolly, Maryland Independent College and University Association

Jennifer Davis, Maryland State Education Association

Emily Dow, Maryland Higher Education Commission

David Duluac, Maryland Assocation of Elementary School Principals

Mary Gable, Maryland State Department of Education

Brendan Gallagher, Maryland Teacher of the Year Program

Terry Gilleland, Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

Ken Goncz, Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals

Justin Hartings, Maryland State Board of Education

Elisa Hartman (for Kelly Meissner), Special Education State Advisory

Carly Hviding, Maryland Governor's Office

Michele Jenkins Guyton, Maryland State Board of Education

Elizabeth Kameen, Office of the Attorney General

Safwoon Masood, Maryland Association of Student Councils

Kia McDaniel, Maryland English Language Learning Family Involvement Network

Charles McDaniels, Maryland Associations of Boards of Education

Alissa Peltzman, Parent
Kelly Ruby, Maryland School Counselor Association
Kevin Rudolph (Anna Gavin), Maryland Chamber of Commerce
Rudy Ruiz, Maryland Business Roundtable
James Scott Smith, Public School Superintendents Association Of Maryland
Susan Spinnato, Maryland State Department of Education
Rick Tyler, Maryland PTA
Peaches Wilson, Maryland Department of Human Services

Support Staff in Attendance:
Carol Williamson, MSDE
Dara Shaw, MSDE
Ava Spencer, MSDE
Brianna Creed, MSDE
Danielle Susskind, MSDE
Lynne Muller, MSDE
Laia Tiderman, MSDE
Jonathan Turner, MSDE

## Welcome, Approve Minutes, and Opening Remarks

Facilitator(s): Dr. Carol Williamson & Dr. Dara Shaw

Dr. Shaw welcomed everyone and opened the meeting at 9 A.M. She asked the task force to vote on the meeting minutes from Friday, 04/13/18. The task force voted and approved the meeting minutes. Dr. Shaw reviewed the day's agenda and timeline for all remaining meetings and action items. She discussed plans for finalizing task force recommendations and presenting a formal report to the State board.

#### **Panel – Innovative Schools**

Facilitator(s): Dr. Carol Williamson

Panelists: Kathy Richard Andrews, Prince George's Community College Early College High School; Michelle Shearer, The LYNX School at Frederick High School,; Candy Canan, Allegany P-Tech; and Kristine Pearl, Apprenticeship Maryland

Dr. Williamson provided an overview of the Innovative Schools Panelists and introduced each speaker. The panelists provided detailed information about their unique programs and answered questions from the task force. The questions moderated for the panelists included: What is your model? How do students meet graduation requirements? Do the current graduation requirements and Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) allow sufficient flexibility to implement your model? What innovative programming is offered to students? Are career exploration and internships included in your programming? What do students earn if they graduate from your program? What barriers impede flexibility and innovation? How is attendance monitored? Each panelist took a turn answering the prompts, as well as any additional questions asked by the task force. Dr. Williamson thanked all the panelists for their participation and invited the task force to take a break.

#### BREAK

The task force took a ten minute break before reconvening into their separate committees.

### **Committee Work**

Committee Facilitator(s): Brianna Creed, Danielle Susskind, & Laia Tiderman

Each committee worked separately for a full hour and thirty minutes. Committees debriefed about the panel discussion, reviewed related readings assigned from their last meeting, and continued working on their potential recommendations.

# Wrap-up and What to Expect Next Meeting

Facilitator(s): Dr. Carol Williamson & Dr. Dara Shaw

Dr. Shaw thanked everyone for their participation and reminded everyone about the next meeting as well all the available readings in Dropbox.

## Adjournment

Dr. Shaw officially closed the meeting at 11:55 A.M.

*Next Meeting:* Friday, May 11, 2018 at The Maryland Department of Agriculture, 50 Harry S. Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401

Task Force Contact: Robin Wefelmeyer (410) 767-3646, robin.wefelmeyer@maryland.gov

For copies of agendas, minutes, and resources, please refer to the website for the Maryland High School Graduation Task Force at

http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/about/Pages/MHSGTF/index.aspx.