

## Maryland SESAC SPECIAL EDUCATION STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Education Services 200 West Baltimore Street Baltimore, Maryland 21201 (410) 767-7197 Pamela Talley

Maryland State Department of Education Division of Early Intervention and Special

Pamela Talley Leanne Carmona SEAC Co-Chairs

## **SESAC General Meeting Minutes**

September 16, 2020 10:00am-1:00pm

**Attendees:** Pamela Talley (Co-Chair), Leanne Carmona (Co-Chair), Margorie Guldan (Co-Vice-Chair), Wendy Balda (Co-Vice-Chair), Emily Dow, Christian Miele, Jennifer Brekke-Miles, Karleen Spitulnik, Katharine Lander, Kathy Kaufman, Kristi Fausel, Melissa Surgeon, Peaches Wilson, Rachel Stoyanov, Rene Averitt-Sanzone, Sally Farr, Shanna Edmond, Sue Rattman, Neil Lichter, Dorie Flynn, Tiffany Williams, Dawn Goldberg

Guests: Brian Morrison, Christy Stuart, Teresa O'Connor, Bill Blandford

**Welcome:** Pamela Talley and Leanne Carmona, SESAC Co-Chairs offered welcomes and introductions for all members and guests on the call.

**Public Comment:** Carmen Brown, DEI/SES Interagency Collaboration Branch Chief, noted that no one registered to provide public comment at the meeting.

**DEI/SES Updates:** Marcella E. Franczkowski, Assistant State Superintendent, Division of Early Intervention and Special Education Services (DEI/SES) offered a presentation that included an overview and summary of the impact and work of the Division since March, 2020. The presentation included data, outputs, outcomes, links to all technical assistance bulletins, as well as a DEI/SES Leadership Bulletin Board.

**SESAC Annual Report/Sub-Committees:** Pamela Talley provided an update of the SESAC Annual report, the Co-Chair's meeting with Marcella Franczkowski in August to offer recommendations and plan the 20-21 school year, and outlined the work of the subcommittees: Secondary Transition, SECAC Guidance, and Family Friendly IEP Print-out. The team agreed that the October meeting will consist of welcome and introductions, followed by subcommittee work.

**Maryland On-Line IEP Updates:** Brian Morrison, Branch Chief, Policy & Accountability provided updates on the MOIEP, and Teresa O'Connor and Bill Blandford led the discussion, provided updates regarding changes in the MOIEP, effective as of July 1, 2020.

**Secondary Transition:** Christy Stuart, Section Chief, Secondary Transition provided updates on Secondary Transition, including challenges due to COVID-19, lessons learned, recovery planning, and updates from the State Agency's Transition Collaborative of Maryland (SATC-MD).

Meeting Adjourned: Next Meeting – October 21, 2020