

200 West Baltimore Street • Baltimore, MD 21201 • 410-767-0100 • 410-333-6442 TTY/TDD • msde.maryland.gov

Task Force on Restraint and Seclusion Members

Senate Bill 786/Chapter 611 (2017)

Task Force on Restraint and Seclusion is charged with reviewing several issues related to the use of restraint and seclusion in Maryland schools. These include, the circumstances under which, and the schools or types of schools in which, restraint and seclusion shall be prohibited; contraindications for restraint and seclusion and who may authorize restraint and seclusion; minimum requirements for policies and procedures to be developed by local school systems, state operated programs, and nonpublic school. The Task Force will produce a report of recommendations regarding restraint and seclusion.

- Co-Chair: Mary Gable Assistant State Superintendent Division of Student, Family, and School Support and Academic Policy Maryland State Department of Education
- Co-Chair Deborah Nelson Section Chief, School Safety and Climate Division of Student, Family, and School Support and Academic Policy Maryland State Department of Education

#	Name	Organization
1	Kim Pogue	Alfred D. Noyes Children's Center
2	Amy Leishear	Anne Arundel County Public Schools
3	Michal Thornton	Baltimore City Health Department
4	Courtnay Oatts	Baltimore City Public Schools
5	Damion Crawford	Baltimore City Public Schools PRIDE Program
6	Neal Lichter	Baltimore County
7	Rebecca Rider	Baltimore County Public Schools
8	David Ring	Calvert County Public Schools
9	Michael McGrew	Carroll County Public Schools
10	Lynn Davis	Child Advocacy Center, Frederick County

Task Force on Restraint and Seclusion Members

#	Name	Organization
11	Julie Mika	Col. E. Brooke Lee Middle School
12	Leslie Margolis	Disability Rights Maryland
13	Rob Harrell	Kennedy Krieger Institute
14	Aaron Parsons	Kennedy Krieger Institute
15	Carol Quirk	Maryland Coalition for Inclusive Education
16	Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins	Maryland House of Delegates
17	Albert Chichester	Maryland State Department of Education
18	Jillian Storms	Maryland State Department of Education
19	Sylvia Lawson	Maryland State Department of Education
20	Senator Craig Zucker	Maryland State Senate
21	Jennifer Jeffrey-Pearsall	Mid-Atlantic PBIS Network
22	Jodi Chesman	Montgomery County Public Schools
23	Yolanda Brown	New Visions Academy
24	Tea Purnell	On Our Own of Maryland
25	Lauren Grimes	On Our Own of Maryland
26	Trinnell Bowman	Prince George's County Public Schools
27	Jimmy Robinson	Reach Partnership
28	Beverly Ursic	Shorehaven School
29	Nancy Lever	University of Maryland Baltimore