2022 Milken National Educator Award Recipient

Dion Jones

Fairland Elementary School
Montgomery County Public School

Jones, a third-grade teacher at Fairland Elementary School in the Montgomery County Public School District, is among up to 40 elementary educators across the nation who will receive the Milken Educator Award during the 2022-23 school year. 

Jones is a leader at Fairland and sits on the instructional leadership and school improvement plan teams. He trains and supports student teachers and educators new to the school and district, and he welcomes peer observers into his classroom. Jones has presented to Fairland staff and helped lead the school’s efforts around equitable practices in teaching. When COVID-19 closed school buildings in 2020, Jones delivered materials to students and colleagues and taught fellow teachers how to use Canva, FlipGrid, Pear Deck, Clever, and other technology for virtual instruction. Colleagues value Jones for his organization, tenacity, inclusiveness, and generosity. 

Visiting dignitaries congratulate Erin Wyatt on her Milken Educator Award.

Students hold up cards representing the amount.


Ms. Regina Simpson
Management Associate, Partners & Recognition, 
Office of Communications and Community Engagement
Office: (410) 767-0638
Fax: (410) 333-2226