# Nonpublic School Transportation Task Force Minutes of the September 14, 2023, Meeting

## The Nonpublic School Transportation Task Force met virtually on September 14, 2023, at 1:00 pm.

The following Task Force members were present:

Mr. Gabriel Rose (Chair), Senator Hettleman, Senator Corderman, Delegate Attar, Delegate Watson, Mr. Justin Dayhoff, Mr. Darryl Clark, Mr. Kenny West, Ms. Lynne Harris, Ms. Sharicca Bolden, Mr. Steve Nelson, Ms. Arielle Frankston-Morris, and Mr. Jeremy Joseph, Mr. Ariel Sadwin and Ms. Ann Wagner were in attendance.

Deputy State Superintendent Mr. Krishna Tallur, Ms. Laurel Cratsley, and Mr. Joe Francaviglia were also in attendance.

#### INTRODUCTION

Gabriel Rose provided opening remarks and reviewed how the online meetings will be run and their schedule. A roll call of members in attendance was taken. Minutes from the August 24<sup>th</sup> meeting were briefly reviewed, and the Task Force voted to adopt the minutes as presented.

#### **GUIDING QUESTION #1**

A discussion on how the task force will decide on recommendations was provided and it was discussed that the recommendations should include financial information on cost and offer an array of options. The recommendations should include information on cost, feasibility, impact, and buy-in potential.

## SURVEY RESULTS

Gabriel Rose provided A data Breakdown of 420 responses from nonpublic schools and stated that the data collected will be broken down further and organized as well as information pertaining to the locations of all these school will be assigned by LEA.

Information of Public-School responses was provided and for those LEAs that responded that they do have a nonpublic school transportation program, data was provided that explained the agreement and their policies.

Information on New Jersey's nonpublic transportation law was provided with some supporting background on the number of districts in their state.

## SPOTLIGHT ON EXISTING AND PAST PROGRAMS

Presentations were made by Jeff Thompson, Transportation Director for St. Mary's County Public Schools, Todd Watkins, Past Transportation Director for Montgomery County Public Schools, and Fred Punturiero, Transportation Director for Frederick County Public Schools about nonpublic school transportation in their LEAs.

# Nonpublic School Transportation Task Force Minutes of the September 14, 2023, Meeting

#### **GUIDING QUESTION #2**

The Task Force was presented with a list of the eleven options to consider for recommendations and a discussion was held on the benefits and concerns with each option. No final determination was made on any of these options to be considered as final recommendations.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:06 pm

#### Date: September 14, 2023

The information included here provides a summary of the agenda items presented. The

video recordings of the meetings are the official record and can be located at:

https://www.marylandpublicschools.org/programs/Pages/Operations/Pupil-Transportation/TaskForce/index.aspx

The next Nonpublic School Transportation Task Force meeting will be held on **Thursday, September 28, 2023.**