

Carey M. Wright, Ed.D. Interim State Superintendent of Schools

TO: Members of the State Board of Education

Carey M. Wright, Ed.D., Interim State Superintendent of Schools FROM:

DATE: April 30, 2024

SUBJECT: Maryland's 2023 National Blue Ribbon Schools Recognition

Purpose

To recognize Maryland's 2023 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Background

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. Every year the U. S. Department of Education seeks out and celebrates great American schools, demonstrating all students can achieve high levels. With its 40th cohort of awardees, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed more than 10,000 awards to over 9,700 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards. Schools are eligible for nomination after five years. The coveted National Blue Ribbon School award affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging academic content.

Executive Summary

List In 2023, six Maryland Schools joined the prestigious group of National Blue Ribbon Schools. They are:

- Northeast Elementary School/Allegany County Principal, Daniel Clark
- Oakdale High School/Frederick County Principal, William Caufield
- Stone Mill Elementary School/Montgomery County Principal Kimberly Williams Cascio
- Church Hill Elementary School/Queen Anne's County Principal Susan Walbert
- Atapeake Elementary School/Queen Anne's County Principal Carrie Mitten
- Smithsburg Middle School/Washington County Principal Matt Hoffman

Action

No action is required; this information is for discussion only.