Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement

​The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement provides leadership, support, and technical assistance to local school systems to improve low-performing schools and foster the growth of effective leaders.
 
School Improvement:
The Maryland State Department of Education is dedicated to supporting a world-class educational system that prepares all students for college and career success.  The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement was established to provide customized support aimed at raising the quality of education in low-performing schools.
 

Teacher and Principal Evaluation System:
The teacher and principal evaluation system aims to enhance and support the cadre of educators who make college and career readiness a reality for Maryland students. The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement provides training, guidance, and support to local school systems in the implementation of fair and valid teacher and principal evaluations.
 
Effective Leaders:
Effective leaders are essential to school success. The Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement provides targeted professional learning experiences and resources designed to foster the growth of effective leaders.

Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement Team Photo


Contact Information

Tiara Booker-Dwyer
Director
Office of Leadership Development and School Improvement
Maryland State Department of Education
200 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201-2595
Office Phone: 410.767.3676
Email: tiara.booker-dwyer@maryland.gov

Staff

Tiara Booker-Dwyer, Director
tiara.booker-dwyer@maryland.gov

Edmund Mitzel, Coordinator for Leadership Development edmund.mitzel@maryland.gov

Dr. Brian Eyer
, Leadership Development Specialist brian.eyer@maryland.gov

Dr. Mary Minter, School Leadership and Turnaround Support Specialist.
mary.minter@maryland.gov

Dr. Felicia Lanham Tarason
, School Leadership and Turnaround Support Specialist
felicia.lanhamtarason@maryland.gov

Laura Liccione
, School Leadership and Turnaround Support Specialist laura.liccione@maryland.gov

Ruth Powell, Leadership Coach
ruth.powell@maryland.gov

Christina Hill, Management Associate
christina.hill@maryland.gov

Teri Windley, Management Associate
teri.windley@maryland.gov