Special Education State Advisory Committee (SESAC)

The Maryland Special Education State Advisory Committee (SESAC) is established in accordance with the provisions of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Part B. The mission of the SESAC is to advise and assist the Maryland State Department of Education, Division of Early Intervention and Special Education Services in administering, promoting, planning, coordinating, and improving the delivery of special education and related services to assure that all children with disabilities, three through 21 years of age, and their families have access to appropriate education and related services. SESAC membership conforms to the requirements of Federal and State regulations. The majority of the members shall be individuals with disabilities or parents of students, ages birth through 21, with disabilities.

SESAC Bylaws

SESAC Members (FY 2020)

Co-Chair: Pamela Talley, Parent, Prince George’s County
Co-Chair: Leanne Carmona, Parent, Anne Arundel County
Co-Vice Chair: Wendy Balda, Parent, Howard County
Co-Vice Chair: Marjorie Guldan, Parent, Carroll County
Co-Vice Chair: Marlene Powell, Parent, Washington County
Vittoria Aiello, Parent, Montgomery County
Kathleen Barazotto, Parent, Frederick County
Jennifer Brekke-Miles, Parent, Baltimore County
Sheila Billups, Parent, Baltimore City
Samantha Carter, Parent/Military Family Member, Anne Arundel County
Tyese Dillard, Parent, Montgomery County
Martha Goodman, Parent, Baltimore City
Elisa Hartman, Parent, Baltimore County
Tiffany Williams, Parent, Baltimore County
Neal Lichter, Parent/Agency Member, Baltimore County/Pathfinders for Autism
LaShonda Scott, Parent, Calvert County
Karleen Spitulnik, Parent, Baltimore County/Decoding Dyslexia Maryland
Prakash Anthony, Thomas J.S. Waxter Center, Department of Juvenile Services
Sarah Farr, Cecil County Public Schools
Brian Fausel, The SEED School of Maryland
Dorie Flynn, Maryland Association of Nonpublic Special Education Facilities (MANSEF)
Rachel London, Esq., Maryland Developmental Disabilities Council
Peaches Wilson, Maryland Department of Human Services
Jill Pierce, Division of Rehabilitation Services
Sue Rattman, The ARC Northern Chesapeake Region, Inc.
Dr. Miguel Reyes, Maryland Department of Labor
Rene Averitt-Salzone, The Parents’ Place of Maryland
Rachel Stoyanov, Maryland Coalition of Families
Maura Taylor, Maryland State Education Association, DESIGNEE
Valerie Ashton-Thomas, Homeless Education Programs, MSDE
Ex-Officio: Kathy Kaufman, Carroll County Public Schools
SESAC Staff: Carmen Brown, Division of Early Intervention and Special Education, MSDE

SESAC Meetings

The SESAC general meetings are open to the public. Requests for reasonable accommodation should be made at least two (2) weeks in advance of a scheduled meeting. For meeting information or to make a request for reasonable accommodation, please call the SESAC staff in the Division of Early Intervention and Special Education Services at 410-767-7197. 

SESAC Meeting Schedule 2019-2020 - Subject to change. Revised April 2020

Special Notice – Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, meetings will be conducted entirely via teleconference until further notice. SESAC members and presenters will participate via conference call. Members of the public will be able to hear the audio of the meeting in real time via the google hangouts link available on the agenda posted. Agenda items have been condensed to include updates to COVID-19 and items specific to the guidance of SESAC. The public comment portion of the meeting will not take place; however, the SESAC encourages the public to submit their comments in writing to carmen.brown1@maryland.gov and this information will be distributed to SESAC members.

Meeting Agendas 

Meeting Minutes


Carmen A. Brown, LCSWC
Chief, Interagency Collaboration Branch
Division of Early Intervention and Special Education Services
Maryland State Department of Education
Phone: 410-767-7197
Email: carmen.brown1@maryland.gov