Achieving Academic Equity and Excellence for Black Boys (AAEEBB)

What is AAEEBB?

Achieving Academic Equity and Excellence for Black Boys is an initiative dedicated to developing and implementing a set of evidence-based recommendations and strategies to improve the educational experiences and outcomes for Black boys in Maryland’s schools. The initiative focuses on three key areas:

  1. Social-Emotional and Behavioral Supports

  2. Recruiting and Training Skilled Competent Teachers and Administrators

  3. Curricula and Instruction

Currently, there are 14 pilot schools, throughout the State of Maryland, that are part of this initiative. Pilot schools meet regularly with the AAEEBB Advisory Council for support and ideas. Pilot schools are responsible for the implementation of recommendations found in the report developed by the Task Force on Achieving Academic Equity and Excellence for Black Boys. Pilot schools participate in professional development opportunities, book studies, and speaker series that support the implementation of AAEEBB programming within their schools.

AAEEBB Spring Convocation

All 455 Black boys (along with their + and sponsors) who are currently participating in the Maryland State Department of Education’s Achieving Academic Equity and Excellence for Black Boys (AAEEBB) pilot program will gather to celebrate their accomplishments and plan for future success in school and beyond. 

Baltimore Marriott Inn at Camden Yards
110 S. Eutaw Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Thursday, April 20, 2023  |  8:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Learn more

Recap of the AAEEBB Summit

The 2nd Annual AAEEBB Summit was held on Tuesday, August 2, 2022. 
The summit supports education community members in transforming the culture of their schools to better understand and serve the needs of Black boys. The conference provided attendees with professional learning on research-based strategies and best practices for improving outcomes for Black male students in Maryland’s schools.


Advisory Council Members

Daryl Howard, Ph.D.
AAEEBB Chairperson
Equity Instructional Specialist
Montgomery County Public Schools

Juanita Ashby-Bey, Ph.D.
Coordinator of the AAEEBB
Maryland State Department of Education

Douglas Handy
Executive Director, Equity & Cultural Proficiency,
Baltimore County Public Schools

Theo Holt, Ph.D.
Program Coordinator, Achieving the Promise Academy
Montgomery College

Andrea Kane, Ph.D.
University of Pennsylvania

Razia Kosi, EdD, LCSW-C
Coordinator, Culturally Responsive Practices
Howard County Public Schools

Jason Ray, JD
Equity Coach
Prince George's County Public Schools

Diane Roberts
Retired Principal
Charles County Public Schools

Cecilia Roe, M.S.
Director of Strategic Initiatives
Maryland State Department of Education

Charles Gale, Ph.D
Senior Research and Data Specialist
Maryland State Department of Education

AAEEBB Pilot Schools

Baltimore County Public Schools

Golden Ring Middle School
Pikesville Middle School
Southwest Academy

Calvert County Public Schools
Calvert County Elementary School

Charles County Public Schools

J.P. Ryon Elementary School
Westlake High School

Howard County Public Schools

Longfellow Elementary School
Running Brook Elementary School

Kent County Public Schools

Kent County Middle School
Kent County High School

Montgomery County Public Schools

Francis Scott Key Middle School
New Hampshire Estates Elementary School

Prince George’s County Public Schools

Catherine T. Reed Elementary School

Queen Anne’s County Public Schools

Centreville Middle School


Questions or Comments?
Contact Us