Portfolio-Based Assessments

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Effective July 1, 2025, teacher candidates must present the edTPA or PPAT to fulfill the pedagogy assessment requirement.  The Praxis PLT will not be accepted after July 1, 2025. 

The timeline below is intended for a gradual progression to full implementation.
​July 1, 2019-June 30, 2025
​All teacher candidates who are required to present Maryland certification assessments may present the edTPA, PPAT, or the Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching to meet the pedagogical assessment certification requirement.

Those areas that do not require a Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching assessment are not required to submit a pedagogical assessment during this period. Those areas are American Sign Language, Art, Blind/Visually Impaired, Dance, ESOL, Environmental Education, Health, Music, Physical Education, and Special Education.

No passing score is required for the edTPA and PPAT but it must be nationally scored.  If submitting the Praxis PLT, the established passing score must be submitted.
July 1, 2025
​The following teacher candidates applying for initial professional certification are required to submit the edTPA or PPAT:
  • Individuals who complete a Maryland-approved alternative or traditional educator preparation program
  • Individuals who graduate from an educator preparation program in another state
  • Individual who hold an out-of-state professional certificate

Passing score required.  Passing scores will be established in 2024.

Note- Professional and Technical Education teachers are not required to submit a portfolio-based assessment.


Frequently Asked Questions

What is a performance assessment?

A performance based assessment is a test in which the test taker demonstrates the skills and knowledge the test is intended to measure by doing real-world tasks. Scoring is based on a rubric and requires a portfolio of artifacts be submitted. 

Who needs to take the assessment?

Those teacher applicants who must present Maryland certification assessments are required to submit the assessments based on the timeline above.  Please review the routes to certification to determine if you require Maryland certification assessments.

What performance assessments are accepted in Maryland?

Currently the edTPA and PPAT are acceptable.

What is the difference between the edTPA and PPAT?

Both assessments are rubric-based portfolio assessments.  If completing the edTPA, you must select the appropriate content handbook.  The PPAT uses the same rubric for all content areas. 

What are the passing scores?

Passing scores have not yet been established for either the edTPA or PPAT.  Currently, the submission of a nationally scored edTPA or PPAT is required.  Once a passing score is established, it will be posted on our website. 

How do I submit my scores?

You may submit a copy of your score report as part of your application for certification. 

Who can I contact if I have questions?

 edTPA questions should be directed to Pearson Customer Support

PPAT questions should be directed to ETS Customer Support

Questions about Maryland certification requirements should be directed to certinfo.msde@maryland.gov