Financial Literacy Education Standards

​As of September 2011, all local education agencies are required to offer a program of instruction in financial literacy education for students in grades 3-12. Each program of instruction must be aligned to the Maryland Personal Financial Literacy State Curriculum described below.

The Maryland State Curriculum for Personal Financial Literacy Education
Grades 3-12 Standards

Standard 1:
Make informed, financially responsible decisions

Students will apply financial literacy reasoning in order to make informed, financially responsible decisions.

Standard 2:
Relate careers, education, and income

Students will relate choices regarding their education and career paths to earning potential.

Standard 3:
Plan and manage money

Students will develop skills to plan and manage money effectively by identifying financial goals and developing spending plans.

Standard 4:
Manage credit and debt

Students will develop skills to make informed decisions about incurring debt and maintaining credit worthiness.

Standard 5:
Create and build wealth

Students will develop skills to plan and achieve long-term goals related to saving and investing in order to build financial security and wealth.

Standard 6:
Manage risks and preserve wealth

Students will develop financial planning skills to minimize financial setbacks.


William Forrester
Coordinator, Region 1 Secondary Program
Office of College and Career Pathways
Office: (410) 767-0277